Press Release

CAD Society Announces Its 2017 Award Winners for Community, Leadership, and Lifetime Achievement

CAD Society recognizes excellence in building community, business, and technology for the achievements in 3D CAD and engineering software

Denver CO, March 30, 2017 – The CAD Society today announced the three winners of this year’s CAD Society Awards. The awards wil be presented during COFES 2017 (Congress On the Future of Engineering Software) in Scottsdale, AZ.

The CAD Society Awards annually acknowledge the contributions made by individuals who have significantly affected and developed the CAD, engineering, manufacturing, and architecture software industries.

Joe Greco Community Award – Steve Robbins, Desktop Engineering (and other engineering publications)

The CAD Society’s Joe Greco Community Award is presented each year for outstanding work in improving communication and developing community within the CAD industry.

Steve is receiving the 2017 Community Award for his longstanding efforts to foster relationships among the user community, and through his publications and actions, furthering the interests of the engineering CAD user and community.

His 30+ years of publishing management for business-to-business publications and trade shows included successful launches and acquisitions of some of the biggest names in CAD trade publications, including Desktop Engineering.

Previous winners of the Community Award include David Cohn, Bob Deragisch, Al Dean, Lynn Allen, and Ralph Grabowski.

Leadership Award – Chuck Grindstaff, Siemens PLM Software

The Leadership Award is presented annually for outstanding technical and business leadership in the CAD industry, and focus and dedication to the needs of CAD users.

This year’s Leadership Award recipient, Chuck Grindstaff, executive chairman of Siemens PLM Software, a business unit of the Siemens Digital Factory Division.

Chuck is receiving the 2017 Leadership Award In recognition of his leadership, and success in guiding his company through significant technical mergers and corporate transitions, solidifying the company’s vision, all while staying true to the needs of the customer.

He first joined the company in 1978 when it was known as Unigraphics Solutions, holding a variety of R&D positions. After a hiatus, in 1994, Grindstaff took over leadership of the Unigraphics product business unit before assuming a broader role as vice president of Unigraphics products and operations in 2000. In 2001, Unigraphics formed the PLM business later known as UGS, which Siemens acquired and re-branded as Siemens PLM Software in 2007. In October 2010 Mr. Grindstaff was appointed president, and in 2011 also assumed the role of CEO until his appointment as executive chairman in 2016.

Past Leadership Award recipients include Jim Heppelmann, Carl Bass, Tony Affuso, Jon Hirschtick, Bernard Charles, and Ping Fu.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Chuck Hull, 3D Systems

The CAD Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a lifetime of outstanding technical and business contributions to the CAD industry.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recipient this year is Chuck Hull, the co-founder, executive vice president, and chief technology officer of 3D Systems. He is the inventor of the additive manufacturing process known as stereolithography (3D Printing), the first commercial rapid prototyping technology, and the STL file format. He is named on more than 60 U.S. patents as well as other patents around the world in the fields of ion optics and rapid prototyping. He was inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame in 2014 and received the Washington Award this year (2017).

Today, Hull’s influence continues to shine throughout the industry.

Chuck is receiving the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his lifetime of work in, creating the 3D printing industry, guiding its growth into additive manufacturing, and in the process creating a third industrial revolution.

Previous Lifetime Achievement Award recipients include Michael Payne, Carl Machover, David Levin, Jon Peddie, and Mike Riddle.

Jeff Rowe, acting president of the CAD Society said, “Based on their accomplishments, the award recipients this year exemplify what the CAD Society is all about – improving and making available innovative engineering processes, practices, and tools that benefit both the engineering community and society.”

All of the awards will be presented at COFES (Congress On the Future of Engineering Software), this year scheduled for April 6-9, 2017 in Scottsdale, AZ.

About The CAD Society

The CAD Society ( is a not-for-profit industry association with the goal of fostering community and encouraging open communication among those who make their living within the CAD industry including AEC, mechanical, manufacturing, and GIS. The CAD Society is dedicated to creating an informative community and improving the tools its members employ in order to get their jobs done. This is achieved by providing an open forum of communication, which helps to illuminate the practices of industry vendors. It has been a leader in creating interoperability guidelines that encourage software vendors to develop applications that can openly share data.


CAD Society Contact:
Jeffrey Rowe (Acting President)